On ‘Being’ Creative

18 Mar

When you are seeking the creative spark is when it is the hardest to find.

Spontaneous imagination is always more fruitful than mechanical thought.

These two statements about creativity are easy to acknowledge, yet much harder to live by. How does one let go of ‘the box’ and start to let the imagination run wild? I look at the works of other’s and think to myself, “Where do they come up with all these wonderful ideas?” I feel that even though I am creative, I lack the ability to fully express my ideas. I am somehow blocking my own creative expression. This is not to say that I have a lack of ideas, in reality it is quite the opposite. I have so many ideas that they are all getting lost in the shuffle.

I realize that one of my biggest challenges is my organization, or lack thereof. I have so many ideas, files, and images scattered between two computers and my semi-organized filing system for my hard copy, that I can’t seem to focus on where to begin. There are so many different projects that I could be putting my energy into that I just end up feeling overwhelmed and playing WOW instead.

Affirmative action seems to me to be the best course to take in this situation. Since I know one of my problems is organization, I’ll start there. Once I have all of my files and images on one computer and organized efficiently, then I can start to think about what to do with it all. My goal is to have at least two projects in progress to work on in my spare time. Sitting down to brainstorm ideas and then making a list of all the ones I come up with that I feel are worthwhile in pursuing will help me focus and stay on track. I need to keep in mind when coming up with project ideas, where I want to go in my career, what is going to help me build my skill set, and will these projects contribute something to society? The latter is a personal goal to not work solely for my own benefit, but to help make a positive difference in the world as a whole. I feel that the best work comes from the intention of benefitting the whole rather than the one.

Another way I find to build my creativity is to write. Other than the writing I have done for college over the last three years, I haven’t been taking the time to write for myself. I find that putting my thoughts down on paper helps me to focus and will allow me to go back to that moment in time at a later date and pull from those thoughts and feelings, which I may have forgotten about.

Anyway, my goal is not to seek creativity. My goal is to be creative. However, in order to make this happen I need to let go and just let it flow. If I am focused on the hope of being creative then I am being driven by the fear that I am not. Good ideas cannot be forced out by hope and fear, they must be allowed to flow like love and gratitude. Along these same lines I also have to keep perspective on my work in the terms of ‘bad’ and ‘good’. What I may look at and think is lousy work on my part, someone else may see as brilliant. This has been proven many times to me in my college career. I have turned in quite a few assignments that I thought weren’t so good that I received a perfect score on. We are always our own worst critics and even thought I know this, sometimes it does slip my mind and I find myself the victim of my own attacks.

4 Responses to “On ‘Being’ Creative”

  1. dmmaster42 March 18, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Thanks so much for linking to my post! Your post is very good. I like it.

    • jphonor March 18, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Likewise my friend, I enjoyed your post as well! =) Honey Badgers…lol…they are so fierce yet so cute at the same time, even when they are killing snakes and eating bee larvae.

  2. fpdorchak March 18, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

    And thank you, Jerin, for linking to my post.

    Over the course of my life, I’ve written down hundreds of ideas…and with many I continued to keep the original scraps fo paper, toilet paper, envelope corners, you name it, I’d written them down on. I might still have some. Do what you feel you must to begin your work…but never delay the PASSION. I’m 51, and only yesterday I was 21. You have an idea–get on it. Don’t delay it. Time flies and there’re always reasons NOT to begin a story. There’s only one good reason to begin them: PASSION.

    Consider this with all your projects: *just start one.* It matters not one bit if you continue it or it leads you into another. JUST START ONE. Learn to multitask, not procrastinate. Learn to ALWAYS BE WRITING. There are always things to distract, have to get done, and divert you. But the good writer ALWAYS makes time to write. Even is only 5 minutes at a crack. Never let life distract you from writing. Incorporate it.

    And keep this in mind when beginning your work: how do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time. Approach your writing this same way and don’t be overwhelmed by the “sheer magnitude” of it all. Of any project.

    Writers WRITE. Always.

    Do it. Now. :-]

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Creating Luck « Getting Better, Man - March 18, 2012

    [...] On ‘Being’ Creative (jerindesign.wordpress.com) [...]

Say something!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

