Our Digital Village

12 Jan
Facebook logo

Image via Wikipedia

The social networking craze has made the sharing of information between people a hundred times easier than it was even a few years ago. Facebook and its ‘share’ button have been popping up all over the internet, and it seems like everyone has a FB page nowadays. It has been my experience as of late that it is more likely when meeting someone new that they will have a FB account than they won’t. I think of it like a big meeting room, where people bring to the table what they are feeling, thinking, reading, seeing, talking about, and buying. Instead of showing off your vacation pictures to one friend at a time, you can upload them to FB and show everyone you know at once! I think this is great, and it amazes me how far we have come and how fast. I have been able to re-connect with people over Facebook that I never thought I would ever see again, and even some I didn’t remember until they friend requested me. Just the other day as a matter of fact I re-connected with a cousin of mine who lives in Canada and I haven’t seen or been in contact with in at least ten years! This new digital realm does make the world seem smaller doesn’t it? The old adage was, “News travels fast.” I think we should update that to news travels at the speed of light. It isn’t as catchy, but more precise. This is something that can be very good and very bad for those in the marketing community. All it takes is one customer to start a viral campaign. I think this puts more pressure on companies to value their customers and treat them right. One false step in this global village and you’re going down!

Say something!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

